Leave It To The Conservative Right To Call For Ceasing Funding To NPR .

LEAVE IT TO THE CONSERVATIVE RIGHT TO CALL FOR CEASING OF FEDERAL FUNDS TO NPR.

I am not the least bit surprised that Conservative Republicans would call for the ceasing of Federal Funding to NPR. They are doing this out of their anger over the termination of Juan Williams the now former NPR News Analyst who was fired by the NPR Chief because he said that he was nervious whenever he was on an air liner with Arabic persons dressed in Islamic cloathing. This was seen as Politically Incorrect and warranted Mr. Williams termination.

Now Conservatives who think that NPR as well as Public Television should not be at all funded by the Feds, are calling for the immediate ceasation of funds to NPR. Yes sir, they can not wait to get into office to offer up legislation to do just that. Now, I don’t think this idea is at all justified. Mainly because fans of NPR from all over the country are just as upset, but don’t think wiping them out is the answer. The answer is the resignation of the NPR Chief. She should not hesitate in the decision making process, but instead she should offer up her resignation immediatly and then hit the door. In that order.

NPR and Public TV are not the Politically Correct Police. I do not need these folk to tell me what I can say, when I can say it, how I can say it , and what verbage is or is not appropriate in making any such statement that might be offensive to some individual or group who has placed themselves in minority status.

NPR should be made to understand this, and it should be done post haste. NPR should apologise for their actions, admitting that the chiefs actions were not justified. As a result therof, she has offered her resignation, it was accepted, and if she does not do so then the Executive Board will step and do the right thing. Fire her on the spot!

Her actions has resulted in the real posibility of serious problems down the road. As a result of those problems the programs that many of us listeners enjoy could loose out if funding by the Federal Government is withdrawn. The same could happen to Public TV.

For the record, I am an avid listener of Day Time Radio. I listen to Glenn, Rush, sean as Bill O’ quite often. However, I also listen to the other points of view. These Conservative Radio hosts, are just that Hosts. they are there to make money, they are there to get as many listeners as they can. They do, that’s great. I have no objections to their making a buck. However, they are not Judge and Jury of the United states. They are not Big Brother, and when these Self Rightious Zeolots cry out for the elimination of Public Funding to Public Radio and TV they are doing so for one reason and one reason only. To eliminate the competition! If NPR and Public TV are gone, they are the only source of Talk Radio. And of course, if there is only one side of the story, and you tell the same lie over and over again, day after day, sooner or later everyone will think it’s the truth. Trust me, These guys know this, and that is why they are ramping up this latest campaign to control the air waves.

That is why I call for the resignation of the Chief of NPR immediatly. Then, in no uncertain terms, Public Broadcasting, TV and Radio, must be made to understand that they do not, shall not, and will not control Free Speech in The United States. Regardless of where we are now in this public discussion, the fact remains, the termination of Juan Williams was unjustified. The actions of NPR should be immediatly corrected.

 But just because a bunch of far Right Ultra Conservatives who think they are the only ones with the answer to all our nations ills say we should cut funds to Public Radio does not make such a proposal  good or for that matter realistic . As a matter of fact any such proposal  is over reaction, and is in my opinion wrong!

Thats the way I feel about it all. Hope to hear from you with a reply! Until then,

Have a good night and of course………..GOD BLESS AMERICA

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

