NEW LEGISLATORS ARRIVE IN WASHINGTON

New Legislators are arriving in washington to prepare themselves and learn how this town works. Of course I am not from D.C., so I have no idea how the town works. But the phrase sounds so Correspondant like. In all seriousness though, this is part of the intro process for new Congressmen as well as Senators arriving in Washington for the first time ever. Most have some idea of what they are expected to accomplish, but then they get a load of the Real, Real Washington and start uttering phrases like, ” Well, you know there are some serious issues out there, this is going to take some time”.  Or “The economy, no doubt is in dire circumstances, as you know. The issues are serious and very complex, and this is not going to be resolved over night”! Funny, I don’t remember him saying that when he was at my Kitchen table begging for my vote. I can’t for the life of me remember him saying that the solution is going to take so much time. Hmmmm.

Republicans and Democrats alike are all saying the same thing to cameras as they begin the learning process. It seems they realize that they kind of over stated their abilities on the campaign trail. Suddenly they realize they are working in a House or Senate of many. Their agenda is not necessarily at the top of the pecking order here, and they might have to stand in line and wait. How long?  Oh, maybe about 2 maybe 3 years or so.

Then of course there is the very harsh curve of reality. Things really are messed up. The economy is in dire streights. We are dealing with a global economy. Countries like China will not stand still and wait for our resolution to the debt that we owe them. No we can not just shut the doors, turn off the spiget and run for cover. No we are no longer the top dog at this here pony show. What we say may not and most likly will not be heard. And yes what you saw the other day was true. President Obama was placed at the end of the line, no longer so vital a force at the World economic Summit! He had little to say, because most people had no interest in listening.

Welcome Ladies and gentlemen to Washington D.C. where you have the opportunity to be a partisipant in the American Political process. Where you can stand before fellow Congressmen, talk your fool head off, introduce your Bill and watch as it is sent to committee as Bill # 0000 and it is non other than 453 on the Committee agenda. And yes your Bill comes up before the committee and it is discovered that the bill is in the wrong committee. Being in the wrong committee it is sent to the proper committee, ending up as item # 1273 on the committee agenda. Its August, Congress goes on recess. You return in September and your Bill has not moved a bit. November, time is running out. December 13 and your Bill is about to come up before the committee. And it happens! The House goes out for Christmas break, your Bill dies in the hopper, and you have to start all over again. I got that senerio from Mr. Smith goes to Washington!

And that is the reality of Washington. And I still wonder why these guys would even consider the idea of running for office in the first place!

Have a great day and as usual…………..GOD BLESS AMERICA….and our new Congress too!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

