EXTENSION OF UNEMPLOYMENT NECESSARY FOR CONTINUED ECONOMIC RECOVERY.

The extension of Unemployment benefits for 13 months is necessary as a component for the continued economic recovery.  However, those trying to kill off the presidents compromise Proposal, which allows for the continued tax cut extension for the rich, and Big business etc; are only attempting to stick it to the rich no matter the cost. 

The big picture was put quite clearly by the President when he indicated that the compromise with Republicans was the only recourse to follow if we were to continue expanding the recovery which is already a very slow, too slow, if you will process.  There are already fears by some observers that a 13 month extension might not be enough. But it is 13 months, and with any luck people might at least be able to find some work.

Please spare me the woe stories about the lazy no-accounts living off the unemployment dole. I am not interested in still another self righteous rendition of “I know this guy down the street….”, I’ve read and heard it all. We all have a story to tell. I am concerned about the rational, realistic issues that if we do not pursue a solution to the problem then we will see no resolution. This is a mere part of the solution. I find it so interesting that when these folks propose cutting off Unemployment benefits, they offer no solution to what we do with the families suddenly without any recourse at all.  

We tell some guy with a family and a mortgage, barely holding it together, that he should take a job, any job, but get off unemployment. The problem is that he makes more on Unemployment than he would taking a Pizza Delivery job. Where he would surely lose the house, and everything else not nailed down.  Yet, a business trying to stay above water is perfectly OK when he sells his product at a higher rate so he can make ends meet. His business is set up to assure his Mortage, rent or lease is payed. But if a family pursues the same process to assure their survival, not to take a job which pays way too low, we get angry at them.

We fail also to remember who got us into this mess in the first place. It was the Rich, not the poor. It was Wall Street, not some guys household, that threw us into the worst recession since 1929. Let us not forget that while we want to refuse Unemployment benefit Extension to those in real need, we have no problem propping up Fannie Mae, or Freddie Mac, or Mortage Houses and Banks that got us in this mess thanks to their corporate Greed! And where I might add did all that corporate welfare money go? Into their savings account. They are sitting on it doing nothing to stimulate the economy or getting Americans OFF UNEMPLOYMENT, and back to work.

Still, we will condemn those on unemployment and stroke the big business tycoons who would rip any one of us off again in a hot minute.

So I say to those who oppose unemployment extension, get off your High Horse, and if you do have an actual solution then do something that puts someone back to work. And that means at a competitive wage.

That’s how I see it. Hope to hear your point of view.

Until then….Have a great day and of course God Bless America.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

