DEFENSE SECRETARY WARNS OF CONSEQUENCES OF ATTACKING LIBIA

U.S. Defence Secretary Gates has warned the U.S. Congress that establishing a ‘No Fly Zone’ over Libia would first require military airstrikes to knock out their air defence system.  That in itself would be considered an act of war.  He also cautioned about the thinning of American forces.  Politically, The United States is in a bad spot on this issue because of the attitudes of the Mid-East toward the United States.  That’s why I have said that any action in this matter would go against the United States.  In short, we should avoid any military confrontation. 

Gaddafi obviously has issues, we all know that, and we can play on those issues, and hope that the world view tide will turn against him. So far, his ruthless actions against his own people has not helped his cause.  He is not welcome in too many countries, and there is the possibility that he might lose this conflict and end up getting killed by his own people.  However, we should follow the lead of other countries on this one and stay back and away from any direct military contact at this time.

I am thinking that most in Congress as well as other insiders are leaning in the same direction.  This in itself is good news. That’s my view-point, and I hope and look forward to seeing yours.

Have a great day!………and God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

