SECRETARY OF STATE CLINTON MAKES RIGHT CHOICE ON NO-FLY ZONE.

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has made the right choice on her hesitancy to endorse a No Fly Zone over Libia.  despite the fact that European and other Arabic nations are actively calling for it.

Ms. Clinton indicated that it’s all well and good to call for a No-Fly zone but in the end, when the chips are on the table;  ‘who is conducting the operation.’  Usually it’s The United States. Usually we get very little support from other nations if any.  And of course, if anything goes amis, the United States takes all the heat. 

Any No Fly Zone would have to be a joint operation, with equal participation. Not just that of the United States.

However, that is not to say that I support such an operation.  At the moment, I lean against a U.S.  imposed operation, The reason, is that The United States is spread too thin across the Mid-East theater as it is.  Further, we are no longer well received by Mid-East people. In short, they do not like us. We supported dictators and tyrants when it was compatible with U.S. foreign Policy. As soon as they go astray however, we are quick to dump them.  How can the United States talk about freedom, liberty, and justice for all, when we, that is when our foreign policy supports dictators who rule with an Iron Fist at will. That is what the people of the Mid East see in us.  We need first to change that perception, before engaging in any activity that involves U.S. military might.

Finally, our financial woes no longer support the justification of interfering with every country that gets into some scrap.  Not to say that the people of Libia are not justified.  They are.  However, our Budget crisis coupled with our national deficit no longer supports The United States acting as an international police force.

For these reasons, I think that the Secretary of State is making a wise choice in hesitancy on entering yet another war.

That’s my viewpoint and I hope to hear from you and yours as well.

Have a great day.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

