JAPAN ADMITS THEY WERE SLOW TO RESPOND TO DISASTERS WHICH STRUCK THE COUNTRY.

The government of Japan acknowledged that they were slow to respond to the series of disasters that struck their country beginning last week. The admission came as Japan welcomed the assistance of The United States in stabilizing its overheated, radiation-leaking nuclear complex and raised the accident level for the crisis placing the incident on par with Three Mile Island accident of 1979.

I had questioned the reliability of the information coming out of Japan for several days, as nuclear experts were also saying that they felt that Japan was underplaying the severity of the crisis unfolding at Japans Fukushima Dai-ichi power plant located on the northeast coast. 

At least in my opinion, I can understand the rational behind the lack of forthrightness in this matter.  Consider, if you will, the fact that the government had already had a 9.9 earthquake. The worst ever recorded.  Then take a moment to consider the sudden tsunami that wiped out everything in its path already devastated by the earthquake that struck moments before. Then they are made aware that there is no water supply to the nuclear reactors as a result of the loss of power combined with damage to the facility caused by the tsunami.  As attempts are made to bring what I am sure workers thought was a controllable problem under control, the problem only grows worse. 

It seems that from that day on, the problems of the nuclear plant expanded with one issue or problem after another.  a proud and determined power company said that they intended on getting the matter in hand. While they admit to have had issue of forth right admissions before, I do not think that there was any malice here. I do not think that there was won-ton-disregard for the lives, welfare or safety of the citizens of Japan. I don’t think it had anything to do with stocks, or capitalistic perceptions, and financial fears.

The Earthquake and tsunami had already caused a lot of speculation and pessimism. However as the nuclear issue became worse and worse by the minute, it only exasperated the situation. By the time they realized that they were in real serious trouble, they had already claimed that they could resolve the problem. A problem they now realized might not be repairable after all.

However, I do not think that they conspired to anything. If anything, they let pride stand in the way of getting vital assistance in dealing with a catastrophic situation.

That’s the way I see it, at least for the moment.  However, that opinion can change in a heart beat if other information proves that there were those who were covering up what they knew was a developing, uncontrollable catastrophic disaster. That is unconscionable, as well as criminal. I don’t think for a minute that the Japanese people or the world for that matter will tolerate that.

It is just a matter of time. For now, rather than question the ethics, reliability, honesty or forth rightness of those in charge, we need to first deal with the immediate issues, resolve the immediate crisis, and save as many lives as possible.

Have a good day………Continue to pray for the people of Japan.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

