AT LEAST WE HAVE A BUDGET !

I must admit.  Last night at this time I was not very confident that there would be a budget.  I figured a bunch of old men would hold the line, stick to their guns, and finish their political career in a blaze of glory.  Well, someone blinked. I don’t know who, but someone decided that the time had come to do what all politicians do.  Compromise. 

Yeah, I know, the Tea Party crowd is not happy. They say they were elected to cut the budget and stick it to anyone who gets in their way. They wanted a 66 Billion dollar slash. but they got a 50 something Billion slash, and that was just not enough, based on the Holy Etc; they are raising on the Hill.

Now last night I am sure you read my RANT about my opinion of abortion.  As harsh as it was that is just how I feel. However, if we are going to have an abortion fight in America, let us put it in its proper context, and conduct the battle at a proper time.  Not during the budget negotiations as nothing more that a hostage figure that the Right can banter around when they have no intention in doing all that much about the current state of affairs anyway.

For them, the fight is anything on the Left is out. Anything on the Right is in.  Planned parenthood, something that might benefit younger people  who are not ready for children, and use birth control to do so. Or programs that assist in avoiding STD’s or AIDS, are things that the American Public, according to them, should not pay for.  Well, if it’s medicine, and it results in wellness, then an ounce of PREVENTION is worth a pound of cure! However, I still oppose the use of Federal dollars to cop-out of responsibility and the performance of Won-Ton-Abortion!

Health and wellness programs for the poor, including birth control, I can support.

Education, I can support. 

Now, lets get into this little area where the RIGHT wants to establish a new little phrase to replace so-called Welfare.  Entitlements. Entitlements are just what they say they are. You, me and anyone else who is an American citizen are entitled to certain things. Social Security for example….We Pay For It!   Medicaid/ Medicare……We Pay For It!   Unemployment benefits! …….Again, We Pay For It!  To me, this is an absolute no brainer. It has no place on the Political Agenda! It is mine. I payed for it.  If Congress is going to take that money from me, then Congress owes me nearly $100,000, just in Social Security alone. Not to mention how much they owe me for Medicaid/Medicare, and other such entitlements they want to rip off!

So let’s get together, and explain, no, tell our Representatives in Congress that there are certain things that equate to Hands Off! They are listed above.

Well, obviously I am feeling better.  My wife is too.  So, I hope that you and yours can take a sigh of relief, and enjoy your weekend.

Be careful out there.  Watch your backside, your purse, and wallet too, as well as your Bank Account!  One thing is for sure, the Tea Party won’t.

Have a great weekend Folks! and as usual…….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

