HORTON JOURNAL, A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE (TALLBOY52) – CONCERNS OVER ISSUE OF SHARIA LAW PERSIST INTO A NATIONAL ISSUE!

It is well-known that I have voiced my concern of the gradual push for recognition of Sharia law along with U.S. Constitutional Law in cases involving Muslims in this country.  The idea being that in their case special recognition would be made of Sharia Laws and traditions along with and as opposed in American Constitutional Law when considering a Muslims case in an American court.  I have openly opposed this concept, and without any hesitation plan to pursue my efforts in such opposition. 

In an entry dated December 13, 2010, I said “The United States should not be expected to recognize Religious laws as justification for actions of individuals violating Constitutional, codified laws of The United States. That seems to be the intent of [some] Muslims.  The idea that Sharia [law] should somehow superseded Constitutional law when considering those who practice Islam”.

The article goes on to describe the events in Oklahoma where a Constitutional Amendment which would bar judges from considering Islamic law in Oklahoma state courts, (as part of their judicial decision-making process). Muneer Awad a 27-year-old graduate from Georgia Law School, born in Michigan appealed the law based on the perception that the Oklahoma law violates the U.S. Constitution, which prohibits the establishment of a religion.  Awad says that in establishing such a law, Oklahoma is recognizing as well as establishing a religion in the United States.

Mr. Awad pointed to a New Jersey appeals court which overturned a state court judges decision in refusing to issue a restraining order against a husband who forced his wife to engage in sexual intercourse.  The judge found that the man did not intend to rape his wife because he believed his religion permitted him to have sex with her whenever he desired.  This case presents a conflict between criminal law and religious perceptions or precepts, as well as Sharia law.  In resolving this conflict, the judge determined to except the husband from the operation of State statutory Law as the result of his religious beliefs.  In doing so the judge in this case, recognized religious law as grounds for superseding Constitutional law, in this case statutory Law of the State of New Jersey. This is a prime example of the very foundation of my concern of the gradual, slow indoctrination of Islamic traditions, beliefs and Sharia law into the United States with the intent of establishing them as just cause to over ride Constitutional law in the United States. 

Now comes Pastor Terry Jones of Fla., who last year threatened to burn a copy of the Quran because he felt that it “promotes terrorist activities arround the world.” At the same time he also strongly defends the Constitution.

While I am prone to recognizing the right of Pastor Jones to demonstrate against something that he opposes, as in this case Islam, at the same time I am opposed to his methods.  Burning of the Quran, intimidating people, or any action which inflame the fear or anger of those he opposes is inciting violence. Which I might add is exactly what he wants. His burning of the Quran a few weeks ago lead to the deaths of innocent people and he refuses to accept any responsibility for his actions. and the results thereof.   He has been asked by Veterans groups to cease using the intimidating tactics he uses because there is a real fear that such actions might lead to the death of innocent military personnel.  He ignores such pleas. He hates Islam, and the Quran, and in his opinion this is just cause for his actions.

I think that Mr. Jones represents a serious risk to National Security.  His dangerous tactics are endangering the lives of innocent persons around the world. It endangers our military. Violance has been and will be the direct result of his radical dangerous behavior. He inflames the fears as well as the anger of Muslims in The United States as well as American Muslims. 

He states that he is protected by First Amendment rights under The Constitution of The United States.  However, he should be made to understand that there are laws that prohibit him from engaging in activity promoting violence, and intimidation. 

I agree with his cause, it’s his tactics I disagree with. Pastor Terry Jones, in my opinion is a loose cannon, and a very dangerous man!

However, as I have said before, I say again. there is a movement by some Muslims in this country to inject Sharia law as a norm in our social as well as legal structure.  These people want Sharia law to be permitted to supercede Constitutional law as well as codified law when American law supersedes their belief system. We can not, and must not allow this to happen.  There is only one law in The United States of America, and that is, and must remain constitutional Law.

This why I propose legislation that protects the sanctity of Constitutional Law. That would say that Religious Law, or tradition, under no circumstances or conditions shall supercede Constitutional, or codified laws of the United States, or those laws of States of The United States.  I am not saying of course that my wording is the exact legal terminology that has to be used, but I think the reader gets my point.

The Constitution rules this land. The Quran might rule in places like Iran.  If I am there, a guest of their country, then it is my obligation to abide by their law. However, if Islamic persons are here as guests or even citizens of this country, The United States, they are obligated to abide by the laws of The United States. 

I hope and encourage my readers to write to their Congressman, and Senator, encouraging both the introduction and quick passage of legislation that clarifies that no law, or tradition, or behavior, shall supersede the laws of The United States, and those laws set forth by The Constitution of The United States of America.

That’s my point of view………….I hope to hear yours. 

In closing I want to recognize the passing of a very dear friend of mine recently. He was a very well-recognized person in High School sports here In Lansing, Michigan. A friend responded to his Obituary and included a poem that impressed me and expresses the very core of my own belief. Like this person did, I would like to just repeat the closing in his honor.

 Now, may the Constitution of The United States go with you. The Declaration of Independence stand by you. The Bill of Right protect you. And may your own dream be your only boundaries, henceforth, now and forever.  My dear friend loved that. 

I hope you do too.

Have a good night, God Bless and as usual……….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HORTON JOURNAL, A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE (TALLBOY52) – CONCERNS OVER ISSUE OF SHARIA LAW PERSIST INTO A NATIONAL ISSUE!

  1. primewords says:

    I see this as a separation of church and state issue, an issue that many Christian believers in this country claim does not exist when it goes against their moral compuses.
    No law of religion should supersede the laws of our land, which were, in some part, based on Christian values, but not wholly upon them.
    The problem as I see it is that our politicians today use religion to push their agendas and justify their deeds, but become very upset when someone else tries to do the same.
    We may very well need a law in place to protect our constitution from such intrusion, but it would have to protect us from all religious intrusion – and this might be a problem.

    • Jim,
      I agree. We may have to develop legislation that protects the constitution from such intrusion. It would have to protect us from all religious intrusion. I think that a few right words, in the right places could establish and assure that protection. However, there would be those on the Christian Right that would see this as an attack on them. I can just hear it now!

      Hope your doing well, and as usual thank you for your reply. You keep me in line my friend!

Leave a Reply

