CONTINUED RISE IN GAS PRICES WILL IMPACT THE ECONOMY!

The persistent and continued rise in gas prices at the pump are starting to have some impact on the economy. That is at least the word from the street.  My own survey’s and man to man/woman interviews and inquiries point to an ever-increasing rise in anxiety levels, as more and more money goes into the tank, and less and less goes into the grocery basket.  Not to mention groceries are sharply rising as well, but that is a whole different story.

Basically, people are starting to trim back.  I was in Wal-Mart the other day and as I watched people at the check out counter I noticed that out of ten people not even one had a full cart.  As I walked the aisles of the Superstore, I noticed that those people who were shopping for food were very attentive, very picky, and eye balling the price.  Usually, they put the item back. Then went away with just the bare essentials.

Today, I was in another Big Ticket Store.  I noticed the same trend again. Very picky, attentive, and taking only essential items. Not good, not good at all. The meat aisle is packed, very few buyers. Full carts, a thing of the past. In Michigan gas is now over the four-dollar per gallon mark. 

Went to popular restaurant for lunch with the wife. Nar-not-a-soul in sight.  Even menu items are going over the top.  $8.00 dollars and up are the going trend for main menu items. We’re just talking lunch here folks.

Say what you want, but the American economy is in serious trouble. All this talk about the great economic recovery is based only on past trend statistical data, and a mess of forecasting based on past trends in economic recovery.  What this all means is that if there is consistent stabilization of the economy, and everything goes according to Hoyle, as my Uncle Charlie used to say, the economy recovers and we all go back to work, living happily ever after until the next crash!

There is only one problem.  The economic recovery is not going according to Hoyle, inflation is overwhelming recovery, and gas prices are leading the charge.  If this continues to a certain point, and I think we are already there, the economic recovery will start to slide backward. 

NOW IS THE HOUR.

Now is the hour.  People need to call, write, fax, email, their Congressman, Senator, and the President making it clear that they are at the breaking point.  That this government won’t have to worry about people working if this keeps up. Because they won’t have money to buy gas. And I might note Mr. President, we can’t wait around for your Energy objective to kick in. The problem is right now. Our assets are liquidated, our till tapped, monies are gone, and if something does not turn around quick, Washington will have a lot more to worry about other than whether President Obama was or was not born in The United states.

Make no mistake my friends, we are in trouble…..Serious Trouble.

Now……..Right now is the time to act!

Have a good night……and as usual……God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

