WE SHOULDN’T PRIVATIZE MEDICARE!

I listened to Fox 47 today as Republicans and Democrats continue to argue about Medicare.  Of course, they are arguing about Social security, and questioning the future of Federal Entitlements that, I might add, Tax Payers pay into.

They want to make Medicare Insurance more competitive, and that means profitable.  Otherwise, the program will go broke.  Democrats however, argue that Social security and Medicare are part of the Social Contract.  These programs are important because they help to keep people well, healthier, and thus, Seniors are less likely to end up in the hospital.

Ever since the economy went sour, the Republicans have used the recession as an excuse to blame just about everything on the lower-income and lower middle class families.  Of course this means that in their judgement the best way to resolve the high cost of and ever rising cost of Medicare, as well as Social Security, since the baby boomers are becoming of age for retirement, is to figure a way out of the deal.  I think what some are trying to do is privatize both Social Security as well as Medicare.  Push it on to the stock market, allow it to crash through manipulation, and then dump the program, Social Contract and all. Then rise up and say ” Since when does the Federal Government have any obligation to assure your comfort and health in retirement.”

That’s exactly what they did with many 401 (K’s) and Mutual Funds coming due. funnel them all into one or two companies, and then scuttle the company on purpose.  The funds disappear. Sure Indictments occur and some poor louse in the Pent house Office takes the hit. But his family is left well off, and he’s gone for a couple of years and then released from the Country Club, I mean Federal Prison. The rest of us who worked all those years, feeding our pension, 401 (k), and Mutual funds, to assure a nice retirement?  Well, we bite the dust, and basically, get nothing in return. Just as it was always planned, all you will get is Social Security!

Now, they are after that too. The greedy Mega Rich want it all. Every dime of it.  They killed Billions in benefits, and walked away. They killed the Housing Market, and walked away. They purposely manipulated the Stock Market as well as the Housing markets, and near crashed the country. On purpose.  The only ones surviving high on any hog during this last down turn was the R-I-C-H, The Richest of the Rich!

As you and I, Ma, Pa, Patty, Paul and all the rest of us struggle just to pay the rent, Oil Barons made the biggest profits in their corporate history!  Wall street tycoons raked in Billions, and I wonder where all that money came from?  Federal Bail out money! and you and me.  And guess who gets to pay for it all?  The ones who caused it? The ones who manipulated the Stock Market?  The ones who willfully ran the country into its worse recession since the great depression?. Nope You and I get to pay it all.

We have been ripped off. And the Republicans can scream all they want, but I for one stand opposed to playing around with any entitlement benefits that this Government owes me.  I payed into it. I payed into Social security and Medicare. It was and is a Social Contract.  If they change the rules of the game now, I call that a breach of contract!  I want my money back….All my money back!!!

Again Entitlements are not Welfare!  They are programs that we the people payed into. Listen to Rush, and especially Glenn Beck as he tries to convince the listener that Entitlements are a form of Welfare! They are not, they never were, and we The People should never allow them to made into such.

It is time…..No it is past time for the American People to stand up, get involved, and tell these clowns in Washington that SOCIAL SECURITY AND MEDICARE…..are off limits.

That’s my point of view, and as usual I always look forward to hearing yours.  Have a great night, and ….

God Bless America!!!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

