GM-CEO CALLS FOR $1.00 TAX ON GASOLINE !

Dan Akerson, the Chief Executive Officer of General Motors corporation has called for a $1.00 tax on gasoline.  He said that it will force people to buy more fuel-efficient cars.  What he forgot to say, was that the Big Three would make a killing in profits.

The bottom line is that the Big Three are afraid that people will not buy fuel-efficient cars if the price of gas goes down.  They will continue to pursue SUV’s and luxury cars rather than some little sardine can.

Now, I don’t know about you guy’s but I think that this was a cheap shot at the consumer, and an obvious attempt to push a way to guarantee that he and the boys walk away with a bundle.

Same ol’ story, same ol’ crap, just a different day! It bothers me that at a time when the economy is in such poor shape, that there are those who still have no perception of how it is down here. They think nothing has changed.  They act as if everything is just fine out here. Well, they are wrong. People who took pay cuts because of the recession, have still to see the cut in wages returned. Because they had severe cuts in Medical benefits, they are paying more for a doctors visit. Food prices are going through the roof.  GASOLINE prices are at an all time high. They have lost Mutual Funds, 401(k’s), and bank savings. They have lost their homes. They wonder how they are going to get to work.  And God forbid, if some serious medical condition were to arise.

Yet, this Hot Shot, who is obviously feeling no pain, makes a proposal like this!

Well, once again America, it’s time to rise up, write, call and tell your Senator and Congress person that they can kiss their Jolly Election Good-Bye, if they even think of putting a tax on gas assuring that the Mega Auto Companies are assured to make a fortune from our already empty pocket.

Any politician knows that any such proposal would be Political Suicide!

That’s my point of view.  Have a great day, and as usual,

GOD BLESS AMERICA!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

