Evasiveness Not The Answer

During the past several weeks I have been ranting, if you will, about the perception that  “It is not what a Candidate for President says that is all that important….It’s what they do not say.”   This is the all telling actual position that they hold.  They are asked a direct question, and rather than answer the question directly, they become evasive, and off-handed, drifting off into another safer zone so as to avoid controversy.

This was the case on todays  CBS Face The Nation with Bob Schieffer.

I watched as Michele Bachmann did a dance throughout the thirty minute program, avoiding any question that might cause controversy. She was asked about her position on Gay marriage. She avoided a direct answer. She was asked about several comments that she had made that were questionable, not as truthful as they were made out to be.  Over and over again, Bachmann persisted in not answering questions directly, but with evasive answers.  In short, a frustrated Schieffer, clarified on various questions by remarking she was not answering the questions.

This evasiveness is what we have to watch for. Untruth, half-truth, evasiveness, indirect answers, changing the topic, and drifting away from the question by making an attempt to state a position not even related to the current topic, are well-heeled practices that politicians have used for decades.  We have to say enough is enough. We have to demand that questions are answered streight forward, without a bunch of evasive, avoidance in an attempt not to spill the beans of their real positions on sensitive matters.

I think that Bachmann has all the skills to actually win the nomination. She is smart, well skilled, and I think well versed.  But, in order for me to even consider her as a serious candidate in my book, she must be truthful, non evasive, streight forward, and open. I, like all the voters, are interested more in what she has to say.  However, I am also interested in what she does not say.

Todays performance on CBS’s  Face The Nation was a perfect example of the concerns that I have been putting forward.

Have a great day………….and as usual…….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

