A DAY WE WILL NEVER FORGET…..THE DAY THE TOWERS FELL!!

I had the day off, and expected that it was going to be a beautiful one, as we all anticipated the end of the summer like days as we drift into fall.  I had very little planed, as a matter of fact I fully intended to use some of the time for some quality sleep time.  Must have been about 9:45 am when the phone rang. My wife answered it, and in the fog of my slumber I heard her say something like  “OK…OK…” and she turned on the TV, followed immediately by “Oh My God”!  I sat bolt up-right in the bed, and looking at the television I saw a wiff of smoke, and then as the camera panned back, the unmistakable edifice of the New York World Trade Center…..fully ablaze!

That was how the next horrible three or four days began to unfold before an entire nations eyes.  One of the towers was on fire, thick black gobs of smoke drifted out of a huge rupture on the side of the huge towering building at the tip of Manhattan.  The camera zoomed in and you could see hundreds of trapped people hanging out windows gasping for aire, waving frantically for help.  They were trapped above the flames where a Boeing 757 had crashed into the side of the tower.  Rumors suddenly begin to circulate that several other huge passenger jets were missing, drifting off course. Something was amiss, I had no doubt.  I scrambled into my paints and went across to my sons room, “Donny, I said, knocking on the door, you might want to see this!

We went down stairs, where my Mother-In-Law already had the TV on CBS, and the morning show host Bryant Gumbel was trying to peace togeather the unfolding story, while keeping a level cool for the viewers sake.  There apparantly has been an accident at the New York World Trade Center, a plane has apparently crashed into the side of the building.  He said.  Then the reports about missing planes, Washington D.C., the Pentagon crash, and all this came together when the second smashed into the second tower.  There was no mistake about my suspicions now….America was under attack.

That begin the day that no one will ever forget.  I am old enough to remember what I was doing when President Kennedy was assassinated in 1963.  I remember the murder of Bobby Kennedy, as well as Dr. Martin Luther King.  I remember Veit Nam, Nixon’s resignation, and now burned deeply into my mind the day that would simply be called 911.

Now, it is ten years later, I still can invision the towers falling, the Pentagon on fire, people jumping from buildings, an angry president, who told the Folks who did this that “They would be hearing from us soon”, We heard about fathers who lost wives, wives loosing husbands, families who lost their first-born, or only born for that matter.  We listened to recordings of a daughter telling her mother she loved her.  We heard husbands being brave as all hope for rescue drifted further and further away. We listen to a young man talking to his wife, saying we know whats going on, we think we know where we’re heading, we are going to do something about it.  Then he said hold on wait a minute,……We ready?  Ok Gotta go……Let’s roll!” That was the last we heard from the famed flight 93.

We watched it all, live on TV as it happened, gavel to gavel, beginning to end. Glued to our TV’s we missed nothing.

And today….Today we remember those who lived through it, those who lost their lives, those who rescued people, and those who were rescued from Hell on earth.

Sunday, September 11, 2011 is tenth anniversary of this horrific event.  It is a day to remember both where we have been and where we want to go.  It is a time for reflection, prayer, and memorial to those who lost their lives, or loved ones, and those who gave their lives for others.  We must never let our guard down, and never forget.

That’s my point of view.  Have a great day and as usual  God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Balanced Budget Amendment, Barrack Obama, Campaign 2012, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Cmapaign Rhetoric, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Debt Ceiling, Democrats, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Nut Cases, Politics, Republicans, Social Issues, Social Justice, The Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

