PRESIDENTS SUPPORT OF GAY MARRIAGE COULD COST HIM THE ELECTION!!!

I am not sure if President Obama made the right choice in stating that he favored Gay marriage.  To say that the statement was not planned, is not true either. I think the Vice President was sent out to raise the flag, and then the President would follow.  The problem here is that there is no doubt in my mind that this President is in serious trouble. He is not as popular here in this country as he was once before, and just today, a poll of world leaders indicate that as far as they are concerned he has done a poor job.

In the end I would say that he should have done some homework prior to making the decision to support Gay Marriage under the presidential umbrella.  All one has to do is their research and you can see where such a declaration could have a serious impact on his hopes to retain his address at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. The Catholic Church will surely oppose this declaration. The President is greatly dependant upon the Hispanic vote. Most Hispanics are Catholic. Then there is the Pentecostal movement. This will unite them for Romney, no doubt.  The Far Right, as well as the Tea Party will get a lot of fodder off of this one, and every time one ticks off another opposition group, they also tick off votes heading directly to Romney.

The President might have been far better off with a broader choice of words. Something more or less like this. ‘ After a lot of soul-searching, and discussion with family, I have turned the corner and personally I support Gay Marriage. But, this is a State issue, and I have no real power in how States decide this controversial matter’.  At least he has an out. But as a political pundant, watching him taunt this over the media, and his own Web Page, cause me great concern because the Gay Community does not garner a table-turning vote.  My fear is though, that if you line up all the opposition vote on this issue, in the end, President Obama might very well turn out to be a one term President.

I just don’t think this was a wise decision. Once again, this President has leaned toward his arrogance, and refused to listen to his advisors. Now, I am convinced it is costing him a lot.

That’s my point of view. I look forward to your opinions……and hope to hear from you soon.

Have a great day and as usual………GOD BLESS AMERICA!!!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Barrack Obama, Campaign 2012, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservatives, Currant Events, Democrats, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Romney, Senate, Social Issues, Social Justice, The Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

