REVISIT TO MY OL’ HOME TOWN….DETROIT

Well, not really, but instead it’s a revisit to Detroit as a subject matter.  I wrote an article awhile back about the financial crisis in Detroit, and how sad it was to watch my ‘Home Town’ slide down the slippery slope into oblivion.  There was then a lot of talk about an Emergency Manager for the city.  Something I was not sure about then. I am not all that sure about it now. But the fact of the matter is that a deal was cut between the City of Detroit’s mayor David Bing and Michigan Governor Rick Snyder and a manager has been appointed to fix the finances of this messed up city.  It was then and still remains a sad commentary.  I am not all too convinced that even at this late stage there is anything much that can be done other than the talented use of a bull dozer.

As a matter of fact, there are those who are advocating the clearing of whole swaths of old Detroit neighborhoods of old burned out houses no longer lived in including those houses with residents. Fencing off the area, and holding it for future development in a more profitable financial time down the road.  There is no doubt that Detroit is in a serious financial mess, brought on by serious financial mismanagement by former Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick as well as previous mayors.

This has been coming for a long time.

I just hope that this Emergency Manager can get Detroit back on her feet.  I also hope that he can get Detroit moving again.  But any improvement will be a long-term situation. There is a lot of house cleaning as well as land clearing that will have to be accomplished in order to get the job started in earnest.

I am still not sure about all this emergency Manager stuff.  There seems to be a question as to whether a State government can just decide to appoint an Emergency Manager who has the authority to remove the power of City Council as well as the mayor.  Whether the State can just walk in and knock off an elected government at will.  I am sure that before it is over, that we will have the answer to that.

But some cities are fighting to survive through very careful budgetary management, and still falling further in to the red.  If they become insolvent as well, they too could face the Managers axe. We are not talking corruption here, just the inability to provide city service on a shoe string budget because of a serious lack in revenue. That is something that just about every city is going through in Michigan right now as the state struggles to get back on its fiscal feet.

I still have high hopes for my Home Town Detroit, I hope she recovers and we are able to scourge, once and for all, the blight, scandal, and corruption so prevalent in that city. That is all the hope she has.  Only time will tell.

That’s my thoughts on the issue.  I hope to hear yours as well.  Until then, God Bless America, a prayer for Detroit wouldn’t hurt a bit.

Have a good day.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Bail Outs, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Human Rights, International News, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Scandal, Social Justice, The Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

