ATTACK AT WISCONSIN SIKH TEMPLE ANOTHER EXAMPLE UNEXCUSABLE INTOLERANCE

AP 8-5-12 Associated Press , Wisconsin

Washington (AP)-  President Obama said Sunday that he and First Lady Michelle Obama are deeply saddened by the killing of at least six people Sunday at a Sikh temple in Wisconsin, according to the Associated Press.  The gunman opened fire and killed six people at the temple near Milwaukee before he was killed in an exchange of gunfire with police.  Police in a later report said that the act was being looked at as an act of domestic terrorisim.

This is just another sad example of the intolerance that sick minded individuals have against others who do not believe as they do.  To go into any house of worship, of any faith and willfully murder innocent people, is in my opinion despicable, regardless as to whether we support their belief or not.  Our nation was founded on the concept of religious freedom.  The idea that all have a right to believe as they do and should never be afraid of violent acts against them or their congregation, just because of what or how they believe.

While our country was founded on the basis of christianity, we also recognized in the founding of this country that many others too were crying out for a place where they could worship without fear and intimidation either by the people or the government.

This brutal act should not however, be seen as the opinion of the people of this great nation.  I am sure that all decent americans, all God-fearing Americans everywhere are just as saddened by this horrific event as the victims are.  Our President spoke well of us tonight, and we should support his statement by assuring those involved of our support as well as our sorrow.

That’s my point of view, I look forward to yours as well.  Until then, Have a great night and as usual –  God Bless America.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
Aside | This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Nut Cases, Politics, Republicans, Social Issues, Social Justice, The Mid East. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

