TODD AKIN IS NOT FIRST MEMBER OF CONGRESS TO SAY SOMETHING STUPID…..OTHERS HAVE DONE A LOT WORSE AND SURVIVED.

Todd Akin a six term Representative from Missouri is under fire for comments made regarding rape and abortion.  He apparently said that women had ways of shutting down their bodies so that they would not get pregnant during what he termed “Legitimate Rape”.  Now, I will be the first one to agree that terminology was wrong, as well as out of line.  In the midst of a campaign, especially one that is so politically charged as his, there is no room for error.  He made a big one.

Be that as it may though, the idea that he should pull out of the race to assure a needed victory for Republicans there, is a little off line as far as I can see.

He won the nomination. He has the right to run.  And I agree political bosses in Washington should not, and for that matter do not have the right to tell him to get out.  He made a mistake. He apologised for the mistake, I say…..Lets move on.

However, a short time after this story broke I learned that Sarah Palin was involved in the fray. Really? i wonder why? Turns out Sarah and her far Right minions had endorsed the his Primary opposition.  Of course that one was far more off to the right than he is and they wanted him or her in office. So, this gang decided to use this opportunity as good cause to dump Akin.  Then Rush Limbaugh got involved, but he stopped short of calling for Akin to bail out. Sean Hannady kind of stayed away from a final declaration as well.

Here my catch on the matter.  I think that Republicans are so desperate for control of the House and Senate as well as the White House that they know they can take no chances that this would be used against Akin.  Rather than take the risk, they dump him, put Sarah’s choice on the ballot and have a better chance at victory.

Rush Limbaugh has said that in order to repeal Obama Care, and set the country on Republican course, that Republicans must win the House, the Senate and of course the White House. If they lose either one, and of course the White House, all is lost. Stalemate prevails, and the country goes down the toilet flowing through the sewers to the waste treatment facility, where it can never be recycled and America as we know it shall cease to exist forever.

Or something like that!

Have a good day!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
Aside | This entry was posted in Balanced Budget Amendment, Barrack Obama, Campaign 2012, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Cmapaign Rhetoric, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Conservative Right, Conservative Talk Shows - Radio Hosts, Conservatives, Currant Events, Democrats, Hanady, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Iran, Lembaugh, Liberals, Mitt Romney, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Romney, Scandal, Senate, Social Issues, Social Justice, Social Security and Medicare, The Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TODD AKIN IS NOT FIRST MEMBER OF CONGRESS TO SAY SOMETHING STUPID…..OTHERS HAVE DONE A LOT WORSE AND SURVIVED.

  1. calebdaniels says:

    Great post – I finally discovered your blog and am glad to find another intelligent human being who understands current events.

    • Thank you! I enjoy writing Politics. Been at it for a while. Sometimes I get it right. Other times…..Boyyyyyy…Do I get it wrong. However I do try to stay neutral, especially at election time, although it can be difficult. I know there will be times you might disagree with me but that’s OK because that is what it’s all about. Thank you for discovering The Horton Journal and thank you for following A Political Perspective. I hope to hear from you again, and of course feel free to comment. Have a great weekend!

    • Thank you very much. I appreciate your comments and compliments. Also I appreciate you watching the Blog. I enjoy commenting on the events of the day. It gives me a real sense of purpose, and I like to feel in this little way I am serving a purpose. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

