OBAMA RETURNS TO WASHINGTON TO DEAL WITH CIA DIRECTOR PETRAUES RESIGNATION.

President Obama returned to Washington to deal with yet another embarrassing crisis. CIA director and Iraq war hero David Petraeus submitted his resignation to the President because of a discovered extra-marital affair.  Mr. Petraeus said that he could not serve under such circumstances. At least, that is what we are told. It seems all of Congress and those, supposedly in the know, are playing the game quite well. All the nice complimentary remarks, and supporting words for a man who made a mistake after 37 years of marriage.  I will not even venture in to questing the stability of this mans personal life. That is not the subject of this entry, and frankly, is none of my business.

However, I found it interesting that one responder to a news article regarding the resignation said that if every man/woman, in a position of authority, who had an affair,were to suddenly submit their resignation, there would be a lot of empty chairs in Ivory Towers all over the world.  I added to some of that for emphasis. That is why I question this resignation and suspect that something big is going on.

Mr. Petraeus went to work as CIA chief in September 2011 after heading up the war in Afghanistan.  He had drawn fire in the aftermath of the September 11th attack on the American Compound in Benghazi , Libya.  His departure comes barely a week before he is scheduled to testify about the assault in  closed-door sessions with the intelligence committees of the Senate and House of Representatives.  Acting Director Michael Morell will take his place, according to latest reports, and Yahoo.News.

However, there is something wrong with this picture. I understand that the Director already testified to these committees, but he was not under oath. This time around, he would be under oath.  I also found it interesting that there was an active investigation in progress by the FBI where this alleged affair was accidentally discovered.  It seems that there was an apparent suspicion that the directors computer had somehow been comprmised, and confidential information was being pulled from it and I assume released to the public. At any rate, during the course of the investagatory process, the naughty behavior was discovered.  Of course, we are to believe, that the director stepped up to the plate and did the right thing. He resigned as Director of CIA to avoid the embarrassing clash that would soon result, which would of course smear his good name and reputation into oblivion, regardless of his contributions to his country, and his hero status.

And of course, now it is just as interesting to note that Mr. Petraeus will not have to testify before the committees since he is no longer director.  Is that not interesting?

That is why I think there is something going on here. To me it seems that there is a real possibility that those in the know, those in charge, those who might also be compromised, would not want Mr. Petraeus testifying about the events of Benghazi and how it all went down.  Who knew what, when did they know, what did they say, how did they respond, etc; etc;.

Now, that seems somewhat rational.

Well, for what it’s worth………..That’s my point of view. What do you think? Drop a line. As usual I look forward to your insight on the issues of the day.  Until then, have a great weekend, and,

God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Congress, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Scandal, Senate, The Mid East. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

