THANKSGIVING……..MUCH TO BE THANKFULL FOR.

Today is Thanksgiving.  Also today we celebrate the 150th year of this special National Holiday.  Most of us enjoy this day by watching the Thanksgiving Day Parades on TV, then we help Mom, in this case the most wonderful woman I ever had the pleasure to meet.  As a matter of fact, I married her.  So it is no problem, no problem at all that I assist her in the kitchen preparing the Turkey and all the fixings.  After, which many take in a good football game or two. Maybe even three.  During the course of all this time with family, friends and loved ones, I usually reflect on how fortunate I am.

I can look all around me. I don’t have to look too far, and I realize how very fortunate I am.  Oh, I am not rich, by any means. I don’t have a whole lot of money,  But I do not really go for want either.  I see things that I like. I see things that I wish that I could have, but that is not all that important. I soon come back to my senses and understand that I have a lot more than a lot of folks have. And by the very grace of God, is the reason that I have what things I have.

I have a wonderful family, full of lots of Love.  I have  fine stepchildren, s well as Grand-kids, of which I have lost count,  who I am proud to call my own.  I have a wonderful wife who sees after me, and encourages me on my way.  I have a nice place to stay where I am warm, comfortable and feel as if I am truly at home.  I am among the lucky ones who has a job, and at my job I am not only respected by my co-workers, but I feel as if I am an important part of the team.

Yeah, I look back over the last forty years, remembering when I was a mere twenty years old, and wondering if I was ever going to get the plane of life off the ground. I remember the slow, almost painful rise as a community advocate, Yes Rush, I was one too, A community worker out of Detroit.  I feel your pain Mr. President.  I built a good reputation, and depended on integrity and honesty, which were my hall-mark for success. It worked, and I made it to Lansing, Michigan’s State Capital where I was able to be a part of some good changes for this great State of Michigan. One thing though I did not forget. I did not, would not, and could not forget from wense I came.  I can look back even further, and remember being an orphan, a ward of the State, and how this State helped make me into the man who I am today. But all that is a different story.

I have a lot to be grateful for, and it is during this holiday…Thanksgiving….that I remind myself of who and what I am, and where I could have been.  I have the Lord to thank it all for. He is my provider, and savior, whom without I assure you, I would be lost.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. May God Bless you and Keep you, and may his eyes always shine upon you.

That’s my viewpoint.  What do you think?  Drop a line, and if not, that’s OK too, because as usual ….. We’ll see ya on the Web!

God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

