THE FISCAL CLIFF !!!

As we approach  the so-called fiscal cliff, where the whole country apparently goes down the drain, and takes the economy and all her citizens with it, I think it is important to note that there are those who say that while the matter is in deed serious, it is not the end of the world. I love listening to Talk Radio and hearing the nay sayers, and the doom and gloom clubers claim that all that is holy is about to go under.

Seriously though, it is time for both parties to come together, sit down at the same table, have a little lunch, and discuss options, and ideas and at least work to put something on the table.  I am hearing hints of that. Democrats say such things as Social Security, Medicaid, and Medicare are not on the table. But there are things that they are able to place there that will be painful.  Republicans say that a tax increase for the rich is out of the question, but ending tax breaks might be an option.

I have a suggestion.  There are these hidden budgets all over the place, for little secret programs, covert operations, etc; and many of them have several billion dollar budgets.  I would suggest knocking a billion off of each program.  Imagine the money brought in with say…..ten programs.

I would also propose eliminating entertainment programs, junkets and the like, that both Congress and federal employees use to go here and there for no particular purpose.  In short, creatively trim the sails.  There is nothing wrong with that.  If you are going to tell me to bite the bullet, then you guys have to do the same.

I do not propose cutting into Social Security, Medicaid, or Medicare.  In my opinion, all we risk doing by slicing there is enhance the probability of creating even more costs as people end up in hospitals, or lose their home etc.  The concept of an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure, is true, especially here.

Foreign aid should also be cut by a set percentage rate per program.

Every Federal Dept. should enjoy a budget reduction at a set percentage rate.

Hiring freezes enacted where applicable. across the board.

I would set a goal at an across the board reduction of say two Trillon Dollars. That amount would then be used specifically to reduce the debt.

Finally a bill should be introduced that mandates no further withdraws from Social Security, Medicare  and Medicaid.  This a allows those funds to rebound.  Social Security taxes should be reinstated. It is nice to have a tax break, but we have to feed the Social Security program.

That’s my view-point.  I look forward to your insights on the Budget crisis.

Have a good day and as usual…….. God Bless America.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Balanced Budget Amendment, Barrack Obama, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Debt Ceiling, Human Rights, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Senate, Social Issues, Social Justice, Social Security and Medicare, The Tea Party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

