MICHIGAN HOUSE AND SENATE PASS RIGHT TO WORK LEGISLATION IN LAME DUCK SESSION…..TOUCHES OFF MASS DEMONSTRATION AT STATE CAPITAL….DEMONSTRATORS SPRAYED WITH MASE….GOVERNOR SNYDER SAYS HE WILL SIGN RIGHT TO WORK BILL WHEN IT COMES TO HIS DESK!

The Bills had been pending in the House and Senate for several months.  There was talk that they would never reach the floor. But in a stunning move House and Senate leaders last week hinted that the Bills would be considered in light that a drive by the UAW to amend the Constitution assuring the rights of Unions, was defeated at the polls in November.  They sensed that the people of the State wanted Right to Work legislation and they were going to assure that they got it despite the lame duck session.

Of course that was not good news for The United Auto Workers, who in effect hung themselves by proposing and pushing a State Constitutional amendment in the first place. I had said even before election day that the UAW attempt might fail at the polls. It did. I also projected that if such a proposal did fail, then the Conservative Right leaning House and Senate, even in lame duck session, might try to ram rod Right to Work legislation through both Houses and then hand carry the Bill to the Governor’s Office where Governor Rick Snyder would sign the Bill. Guess what?  This exactly what happened.  The only component missing now is non other than the good governor’s signature.

Well, the UAW asked for it and they got it. They could not leave well enough alone. The Governor had made it clear that Right to Work Legislation was not a priority on his agenda, he was not interested in focusing on the issue in light of all the other serious economic and employment issues on his plate.  As a former volunteer aide in a representatives office there were two things I learned very fast.  One: Do not piss off the Legislator that you work for. That’s a sure-fire way to be shown to the door.  Two: Never, ever piss off the Governor. Republican or Democrat. That is by no means a measure of good politics. You just don’t do that. The UAW did, they pissed off the governor, the governor then said fine. It was not on my agenda then, it is now. If it reaches my desk it’s a done deal.  And the moral of the story is? Never forget Rule number One or Rule number Two.

Now International President of The United Auto Workers is all up in the air over the way this bill went through the House and the Senate. He is mad because this kind of legislation is nothing more than, I I concur, Union Busting.  He feels that the legislation was ram rodded through both Houses without a hearing of the People. It did not follow the legislative process.  I concur again. it’s apparently legal, but I agree that this is no way to run Democratic government.  During the course of this legislative action there were no committee Hearings. It was passed by the House….Sent to the Senate.  Passed by the Senate….sent to a joint committee to iron out minor infractions.  It will then be sent to the Governor where all can now be assured that it will become law.

This is a sad commentary on how Right Wing politicians define democracy. They talk about Liberal Democrats as if they are nothing but trash. They brush them off as if they were nothing more than no account politician wanna be’s. They act as if they are the adults in the room and act as if they are the only ones who have a clear understanding of the Constitution.  They think they have all the answers.  They condemn anyone who dares to challenge their intellect or perception of what is or is not right. they strut arrogance but condemn anyone who even hints at an arrogant gesture. They learn the dirty tricks in the book and push them whenever it is convenient.

unfortunately, Democrats do the same.

But what happened in Michigan on December 6, 2012 was historic.  Michigan, in places like Flint and Detroit were the sites where Unionization was born. It is the cradle of Workers Rights. it was a difficult birth, a violent birth, many were hurt, maimed, even killed in the name of far labor practices, Worker’s Rights, and the right to organize.  Well, a lot of damage has been done to that idealistic perception. While they might have the right to organize. The right to unionization still exists.  But the right to gainful employment will no longer be denied if an individual chooses not to be a member of the Union. There will no longer be such a thing as the “Union Shop”.

Look, all I can say is this.  I know for a fact that had it not been for the the Union I might have lost my job on several occasions. I would not be receiving the wages I enjoy today. The family history and make up of my family profile might be a lot different from it is today.  I have what i have, go where I go, work where I work, live the way I live because of the Union.  Without it, I venture to say that life would not be as good as it is for me today.

After yesterday………I am not so sure what life changes are around the corner. I can only hope and pray that I am not to sadly effected by the Bills that passed in Michigan.  Only time will tell.

That’s my point of view. As usual, I look forward to your insights on the issues of the day. Until then Have a great day and as usual…………..God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Democrats, Freedom to Work, Human Rights, Labor Issues, Labor Law, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Right To Work, Scandal, Senate, Social Issues, Social Justice, UAW, Worker Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

