GUN CONTROL IS NOT THE ISSUE HERE…….DEALING WITH VIOLENT PRONE MENTALLY ILL PERSONS IS THE ISSUE.

For the last several days we have listened to a raging debate over gun control legislation. There are those who advocate strong gun control laws as a solution to the mass killings going on around the country.  They seem to think that this will stop these horrific events.  However, very little is said about what is obviously a broken Mental Health System in The United States.  I would advocate that we focus on the real problem and deal with the violent prone mentally ill who are capable of snapping at any moment for no real cause.

That was what happened in New Town Conn. We all know this, but we sit by and allow politicians looking for a quick score introduce gun control legislation that will not address the crux of the problem. That is that our nations Mental Health System is seriously broken, and that we as a society can not stand by waiting for the next New Town to occur.

Today, on various radio programs we have heard several mothers say that they need help with their child prone to such behaviors  Very little is done by local mental health agencies, and then there is always the ACLU opening a court case to push the idea that the patient has rights.  If they do not want treatment, or if won’t take medication, then that is apparently their right.  However, my question is where does this persons rights end, and the rights of society begin.

This was why I opposed the de-institutionalization of the mentally ill.  There are those, true, who are capable of adjusting to society. there are even those who if medicated properly can cope with the every day rigors of life.  But there are those who are not able to do so. They are a ticking time bomb, waiting to explode, and the horrific, violent behavior can often lead to tragic events like those that occurred last Friday.  Whats interesting is that in most cases is these mentally deranged individuals that bring about events like Calabine, or Arizona, or other such events that we are all aware of.

Guns do not kill. The person behind the trigger does the killing. We need to deal with those people who are not capable of rational thinking before they pull the trigger.

In short, we need to fix the National Mental Health System.  We need to step and recognize the real problem, instead of going the easy route which is only good for political points.

That’s my point of view.  I look forward to your insight as well. Until then, have a great day and pray for those in New Town………and as usual…….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Healthcare reform, Human Rights, International News, Mass Killing in New Town CT., Mass Murders, National News, New Town Connetticutt, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Scandal, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GUN CONTROL IS NOT THE ISSUE HERE…….DEALING WITH VIOLENT PRONE MENTALLY ILL PERSONS IS THE ISSUE.

  1. primewords says:

    I tend to agree with you Don. The biggest problem is the mental health system and those who raid it regularly to make a profit somehow or another. However, I also think renewing the ban on assault weapons will help also. This is a tough one, and I don’t think there is any one answer to it. Someone from Australia commented to me the other day that they just don’t understand why there is so much violence in America. I don’t understand it either, but I think the mental health system and parents who don’t pay attention have a lot to do with it. Everyone is too busy to bother with the troubled teen until they kill 27 people.
    Jim

    • I am reminded of the Colorado school killings. Both Kids folks had good money and I thought I heard something about how they were too busy attending cocktail parties and other self promotional events to bother with the kid. Besides, he was a loner, locked in his room. Windows papered over, wore dark gothic outfits. Yeah, he was just trying to express himself, but he was no bother to anyone. Now was he? Your so right Jim, Parents need to pay more attention to their kids.

Leave a Reply

