THE HOLIDAYS ARE OVER !!

Well, it’s over. Christmas has come to it’s end. Today was the day. No escaping it, the tree, the decorations and garland had to come down.  I rose early this morning, and turned on the tree lights just one more time. I sat remembering how nice this particular Christmas was. I realized that the holiday’s were over, and yeah….today the tree had to come down. It’s a job, but it’s also one we do every year, and have just as much fun doing the routine in reverse as we did putting it up.

With end of the holiday season, comes a return to the normal routine of this Blog.  The reader will note we returned to our regular page setting. And I once again am gearing up for another political season where the gloves I know will soon come off, and once again Congress, the House and the Senate will take after the President.

Enjoy it while you can. We have about three months before the country runs out of money and the President will ask to raise the debt ceiling again.  Then the political brawl starts anew. Republican will call the President irresponsible, spending money won-ton and without regard for the future of the country. Of course the Republicans will eye-ball Entitlements again. They will go after Social Security and Medicare. They’ll chase after Food Stamps and other give-away-programs that they see as wasteful. However, they will inore anything Pork-Barrow  that happens to benefit their home State. They will ignore wasteful projects, and programs that leak money like a seive.  Federal agencies will spend millions if not billions on projects that would cost half as much if not less.  They’ll get away with it of course telling Senate and House Sub-Committees whatever it is they need to hear.

In short, it is back to the same old…same old. Nothing has changed. It is all the same and Congressmen  and Senators are out to accomplish one thing and one thing only. Get re-elected two years from now at any cost. As usual, we’ll be here once again watching the election, hoping for the best but seeing nothing in the way of fruitful or rational change. Something for example that might actually serve for the better of this country. Fat chance.

Well, it was a fun holiday. I hope you folks had a good one too. But now it’s back to the ol’ grind, and I’ll be here doing the best I can to break it down and make at least some sense of the mess.

Well, have a great day and as usual I hope to hear your insights on the issues of the day.

Of course ……….. God Bless America!  Good Night.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
Aside | This entry was posted in Christams, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, The Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

