ON THE MATTER OF GUN CONTROL.


On the matter of Gun Control, I think it is time for me to weigh in on the issue. As Vice President Biden prepares to submit suggestions of increased gun control measures, he apparrently has indicated that the solution to mass murders that seem to have increased is not necessarily just a matter of stronger gun control legislation. I have to agree with that. That is why I have advocated that we must also focus on stronger Mental Health legislation as well. 

The White House is facing stiff opposition from the Gun Control Lobby, especially the NRA, as a direct result of the perception that the President will endorse strong controls on weapons, especially assault weapons like that used in New Town Conn.  

However, it would seem that at least the gun manufactures would be backing the President all the way in as much that in the last month more guns have been sold than one can count. The application for ccws as well purchasing of guns has dramatically increased, and there is no doubt that this can be directly attributed to the Biden Committee, as well as the concerns expressed by the President. 

While I could agree on stronger legislation regard assult style weapons to restrict guns all togeather is the wrong way to solve the problem. Again, I have to return and encourage stronger guidelines in Mental Health.  Most of the persons who committed these horrific acts were seriously mentally ill. They were psychological time bombs waiting to go off. There was very little that families could do, mainly because there were limited resources available other than the Quick Fix resolution. Drug them up, prop them up, then send them home. Short term treatment is not the answer for individuals who are a danger to themselves as well as others.  Long term psychological treatment is. We know that.  However, it seems we do not have the courage to do what needs to be done about it.

This saga has all the potential of becoming, yet another sad chapter in societies quest to find a solution to this serious problem. Once again it seems we are about to put a band aid on a problem that requires more advanced treatment.  It is easy to create popular legislation designed to tickle the fancy of the voter. Something that Congress can say “Look at me I am doing something about the problem”, while in reality they are accomplishing very little if anything at all. 

I hope that the President, Vice President as well as Congress can see this as they move toward dealing with what is an ever growing and ever dangerous problem.

That’s my point of view, and as usual I look forward to yours.

Until then, have a great day and as usual….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

