PRESIDENT OBAMA TAKES OATH OF OFFICE IN PRIVATE CEREMONY AT THE WHITE HOUSE.

In a rare set of circumstances President Barrack Obama took the oath of office today at a private ceremony at The White House in Washington D.C. With his wife holding a bible, and his children standing by the President raised his right hand and swore to protect and defend the Constitution of The United States.

Tomorrow, January 21, 2013 he will have what is now being called a ceremonial inauguration before all America. Why two swearing in ceremonies? Well the reason is that the law requires that the President be sworn in on the 20th day of January at 12:00 noon. Since Sunday is a legal day for Federal offices being closed the President still had to be sworn in  so thus we have the official swearing-in on the 20th in accordance to Federal Law.

I find all that interesting.  I usually make it a point to watch the events of this special day. However, as is the rare occasion on this particular day I will have to work. That’s OK, because later, I plan to watch it all on re-runs.

Mr. Obama’s first term was not easy. He was a president of dreams. One who wanted to make a real impact on America. He found this to be a difficult task however.  Faced with stiff opposition, and with the second half of his term came a Conservative far right House bent on destroying any dreams he had for the country.  So, his last two years were everything but happy.  However, he won re-election. That is seen as a country saying you are doing what we expect. the things that went wrong were not of you’re doing. You have heard the voice of the people. We understand the slow pace, and are prepared to give the benefit of a second term.

The economy continues to edge up. Factories are humming, not a fast as we want to, but they are moving forward, in the right direction. People are returning to work. The trend is slow, but when considering what we have been through, where we’ve been, and where could have gone, most Americans it seems are convinced that it will take us some time to get back to where we want to be.  The deficit is of course the real issue. However, again, the American people have said that although this is a serious crisis, to allow the country to fall off the fiscal cliff is certainly not the answer. They want to see a slow gradual resolution. Allow the country to pull up and out of recession, getting people back to work, which in it self creates revenue, meaning more money in the federal coffers, and a gradual effort to reduce and pay down the deficit.

There are a lot of issues that need attention. Only time will tell whether this Congress will allow the President to do his job.  Or, on the other hand, will Congress resort back to stalling tactics, paralization, designed only to make this president look bad.  I think the American people have made it clear that is not the way we do business in The United states. I also think that if Congress try’s to hold the Nation hostage, two years from now the Conservative Right will take a real beating.  Based on their recent retreat last week I think they know that too.

But I guess for now we should bask in the delight of recognition. Recognition that we are a free nation, under God, that we enjoy liberty, and while this ol’ country might have her issues. While at times we might be divided, Democracy works. Our nation moves forward, sometimes painfully, but it does move forward.  And that, in a nut shell my friends is why I still would not want to be living in any other country than that of the greatest nation on earth…….The United States of America. Congratulations Mr. President, we all wish you well.

That’s my point of view. I look forward to hearing your insights on the issues of the day. Until then as usual……….God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, Barrack Obama, Campaign 2012, Congress, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, National News, News and Politics, The Tea Party, U.S. Economics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

