OBAMA’S IMMIGRATION POLICY IS A FAIR OPTION FOR THOSE SEEKING CITIZENSHIP.

President Obama has thrown his weight behind an immigration proposal that I think is a fair option for those who are hoping to become citizens of The United States.  The idea of a special fast track to citizenship however, is not fair.  That in itself is why I support the president’s proposal.

Those individuals in this country illegally, would have the option to apply for american citizenship with conditions attached.  One they would have to pay a fine, any taxes owed, and then they would have to go to the back of the line like everyone else and wait their turn. Meanwhile they would be given Green Card status until their name comes up.  I think this is fair and just. There is no reason that people who entered this country illegally, or whose parants entered the country illegally, should enjoy special status and take cuts in front of those persons who followed the rules, and waited their turn.

The idea of doing something about securing the American borders is also a good idea as well. As a matter of fact there are some legislators on both sides of the aisle who are clarifying that if the borders are not secured, then they will not sign on.  I have said all along in this Blog that securing the borders is a major issue, and not only should be done but in my opinion must be done.

I am not anti immigration. I mean after all, most of us in this country have ancestors from other countries.  This country is made up of the hard labor, sweat and blood of immigrants. We are the boiling pot of the world.  You know, when people talk about how rotten this country is, how unfair we are, how mean we are, etc; my, first question is then why is it that so many folks want to come to live in this country? 

A fair and just immigration policy is good for this country and good for those who want to be citizens.  But for those advocating a fast track for a chosen few, my answer is that such a policy would be un fair to those people who have followed the rules.

That’s my point of view. I look forward to your insights on the subjects of the day.  Until then, Have a great day and as usual………..God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

