THERE IS A REAL POSIBILITY THAT THE UNITED STATES WILL GO OVER THE FISCAL CLIFF!

This time around Folks, I think that there is the real possibility that the United States will go over the fiscal cliff, plunging The United States into an even more serious financial crisis.

It should be noted that in my opinion it was never a really smart idea to impose this kind of time restriction on the likes of washington in the first place. The President intended that by imposing a time line restriction that Congress would negotiate a reasonable if not rational deal to begin the process of dealing with a ballooning national debt out of control.  The first time around resulted in just kicking the can down the road. Congress advanced the cut off date to march 1st 2013, thus avoiding political ramifications to outgoing congressmen.

Now the new congress seems to be indicating that the political ramifications are not strong enough to threaten congressional careers, and the President who is entering his lame duck phase; (he can’t run for re-election), figures “What the Hey, they can’t touch me now, and I’ll just blame the Republicans”.

The problem is that the fiscal ramifications are going to be quite serious indeed.  The Agriculture Dept., for example will lose hundreds of Meat inspectors. This means that because meat products are not inspected, they can not be sold. If they can not be sold whole sale to market, you, and me, Ma, Pa, Patty and the whole gang will end up paying the highest dollar, and I do mean the HIGHEST, dollar for Meats at the market!.  Thousands will be layed off, our soldiers overseas will not be payed.  federal allocations to States will dry up, and basically, the money flow in washington will come to a halt.

However, Congress who will not be payed as a result, will enjoy one little tweak benefit that the rest of us will not enjoy. They will get their pay retro active as soon as a deal is reached.  So, once again, since most of these clowns, I mean Congressmen/women, are multi millionaires anyway, what do they care. Their pay ain’t nothing but chump change!

So, here we sit, on the brink of fiscal and economic disaster, with all the whole world  watching, and what is washington doing? Nothing!…..What is Congress doing?  Nothing!…. What is the Speaker of the House doing?…Nothing!  What is the Vice President doing (The President of the senate), Nothing! What is the U.S. Senate doing?…Nothing!  What is the president doing?….Nothing!……and of course what are the people doing?  Nothing!……They haven’t got a clue. Life goes on. But I can tell you this my friends.  They will pay attention if we go over the fiscal cliff. They will pay attention then!

That’s my point of view.  I look forward to your comments on the issues of the day.  Until then…Have a great day and as usual………..God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, Bail Outs, Balanced Budget Amendment, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Debt Ceiling, Democrats, Economics, Fiscal Cliff, Human Rights, International News, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Republicans, Social Issues, Social Justice, Social Security and Medicare, U.S. Economics, Wall Street Greed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

