GOVERNOR SNYDER TO DECLARE DETROIT A FISCAL EMERGENCY….PAVES THE WAY FOR A STATE TAKEOVER OF CITY MANAGEMENT!

Governor Snyder will be in Detroit Friday and is expected to announce that Detroit is in Fiscal Emergency and that his administration will take over operations of the city.  While this will not sit well with Detroit’s City Council, it is all to obvious that the time has come to do what has to be done, and take control of the fiscal as well as political mess of Michigan’s largest city.

According to Reuters News Service, at a forum the Michigan Governor will endorse the February 19 findings of a six member review team that concluded the city’s dire financial situation constituted an emergency, according to a source that asked not to be identified.

The official declaration of the city’s financial crisis will trigger a 10-day deadline for Detroit officials to request a hearing with the Governor. It will, however, result in the appointment of a city manager to assume the duties of managing the city’s fiscal affairs.

I don’t think the Governor has any choice in the matter.  He has a responsibility to do what is in the best interest of the state. The City of Detroit is within the State of Michigan, and therefore Detroit’s fiscal kaos is impacting the States best interest.

Rather than consider the City and it’s future of impending doom, the Detroit City Council has done nothing but jockey for position and power.  They are playing, and would continue to play political football with the city in the quest for power.  They care less obviously for the best interest of Detroit, or its fiscal future.  They have allowed the city to fall deeper in fiscal disaster.  Rather than act in the city’s best interest, they have instead engaged in political power plays to hold onto whatever clout they think they have running the city, or what’s left of it.

I, like many native Detroiters have watched from affair as this city council acted irresponsibly throughout this crisis.  They failed at every challenge, and failed at their first obligation. That is leadership, and a recognition that the Motor City is in serious fiscal trouble, and about to fall off the Economic Cliff.  I hope that the governor makes it very clear that the Party is over!

I hope that the new Emergency Manager’s first official act is to remove and set aside any power, or authority that the Detroit City Council has.  I hope he/she assumes full command of the City, and makes it clear that the Mayor too can go the way of the City Council or can play by his/her rule book.

The time has come for the Governor to do what has to be done. I not only endorse the governors expected actions, but Congratulate him for standing up and making the tough but necessary decision.

That’s my point of view……….I look forward to your insights on the issues of the day. Until then……….Have a great day!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, Bail Outs, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Debt Ceiling, Democrats, Detroit, Economics, Fiscal Cliff, Labor Issues, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Republicans, Social Issues, Social Justice, U.S. Economics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

