SENATOR CARL LEVIN ANNOUNCES HE WILL NOT SEEK RE-ELECTION!

U.S. Senator Carl Levin, an Icon in the United States Senate has announced that he will not run for re-election. 

The Senator had promised back in January that he would be evaluating whether he would seek a seventh term representing Michigan. Yesterday he announced that he had decided that he would best serve the State by focusing on economic recovery and healing the country from the resession.  He would not have to focus on a campaign, the 78 year old Senator from Detroit said.

Senator Levin served this State with great integrity. I am sure, without doubt, that his last two years in the Senate will be his best. I will miss him. But I have my own personal reasons for that.

I knew him back in the days when he sat on what was then known as the Detroit Common Council. He was one of the first Council Persons to reach out to this new Community Advocate in Detroit.  He welcomed me and was always willing to listen and offer advice.  I was there when Detroit City Charter passed and renamed the Council Detroit City  Council. I watched as he rose to President of the Detroit Council, and supported him in his run for United States Senate.  He was honest, would’nt lie, and represented our State with great integrity.

I am reminded of the time I was chairing a Community Citizens Advisory Council in 1980. Our Council invited the Senator to visit our Community Action Agency in Mt. Clemens. He accepted and I remember standing in the parking lot when he arrived .  I approched him and said “thank you for comming Senator”. He said It’s Carl to you Don, we’ve known each other for too long”.  What an honor from a man who to this day has that much respect for the little guy back home.

The senator represented us well. He was in washington during tough times. He was there at the top, in an important place during 911. Made decisions intelligently.  I watch C-Span often, and every time he hits the Senate floor he is surrounded by co-Senators.  He is a powerful man in the Halls of the U.S. Senate. He will be sorely missed.  Truly, this is the end of a great era in Michigan history. It also sets up a major battle for who will be our next Senator from Michigan. I think one of those to watch is Republican Mike Rogers.

But, Make no mistake about it. The last two years of Senator Levins tenure in Washington will be his best. He wants to focus on the issues and the task at hand, getting our nation out of this economic mess.

My very best wishes to you Senator, and of course thank you for your honest representation.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, Balanced Budget Amendment, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Currant Events, Democrats, Detroit, Economics, Healthcare reform, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Labor Issues, Liberals, Mid East Crisis, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Senate, Senator Carl Levin, Social Issues, The Mid East, U.S. Economics, United States Senate, Worker Rights. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

