Tragedy At a Marathon!

I had just gotten off of work, and had slipped into the car and was on my way to run an errand for the wife. It was ten minutes after 3:00pm on the nicest day of the year. Spring seems to be running late here in Michigan.  As usual, I had the Sean Hannady show on the radio, and just as he started talking he suddenly stopped, and said OK, something is going on at the Boston Marathon, there’s smoke and we are hearing about serious injuries in the crowd near the finish line.

Before the disastrous day was over we learned of several deaths, including the death of an eight year old boy, standing with both his mother and sister, who both lost limbs, waiting for his daddy to come over the finish line. The young one died of his horrific wounds.

Those on the scene, as well as emergency personal, police officers, military officers, nurses at the first aid tent, and just plain by-standers rushed to the scene of two explosions peeling back a steel fence designed to keep the crowds contained away from the finish line. Now it was imperative that they get to the carnage on the other side of that fence to help those with limbs blown away, massive cuts, to stop the bleeding before they bled out.  For some it seemed there was no hope. Others were in shock, but the hero’s of the day, were able to affix tourniquets and compresses in their valiant effort to save lives.  Had it not been for the fact that there was medical personal on the scene there would have been more deaths.

When I got home, the pictures were horrific. Blood, anguish, death, and shock.  But there were those who disregarded their own safety, only to save lives and help the wounded. Just another example of American people, their nature, and determination that no enemy will take them down.

Today, with what little facts I have garnered, purposely, I might add, I am able to write from the gut. Because this is a from the gut story.

After all the smoke and carnage is cleared, and the investigation is on its way, then there is time for facts and issues resulting from the tragic events of Boston. For now though, I only wish the victims, and families as well as friends well.  I want to express my sorrow, and extend a prayer for those who lost loved ones on what was supposed to be a happy day. A successful day, a day of victory, after all “I just ran the Boston Marathon”. But, now, that just doesn’t matter anymore. Instead the day has turned into a day of tragedy, death and horrific wounds.

Once again, for some dim-witted reason, America has been struck by a terrorist act almost without comprehension. An act we just do not understand. There is no rational. But for people who would commit such a deed as this, there need be no rational. That’s what is so sad about it all.

In their mind we are the enemy. We are evil, and for some dumb perception, they think their cause is just. Killing as many innocent victims as they can justifies their cause. Creating such horrific carnage is a mark of accomplishment.  In their head, their God has blessed them.  Their deed was good. At least that is what they think.

This will take time to get over. But we will. It will take time for us to regroup, stand up, and move on. But, we will. We won’t cower, we won’t hide. We are Americans. Americans don’t do that.

It is sad that we live in such a sick world. and all we can do is pray. Pray for recovery of those wounded, and for the hearts broken by those who lost loved ones,

For now that is all we can do.

That’s how I am feeling, from the gut.  As usual, God Bless America…Pray for Boston, and the families of those impacted by yet another cowardly act.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, City Crime, Community and Neighborhoods, Crime, Currant Events, Home Land Security, Human Rights, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Mass Murders, National News, News and Politics, Nut Cases, Politics, Social Issues, Social Justice, Tragedy in Boston. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment