CLEVELAND HERO ……. A TAINTED PAST…..

Charles Ramsey has been labeled a hero. He is the man who helped rescue three women held captive for ten years.  He said he had been raised to help women in distress. Then came the news of his tainted past, a smoking gun as The Huffington Post  calls it. He has a past criminal record of domestic violence some 16 years ago.  Anything, it seems to spoil his day in the sun. He finally does something good. He finally has a chance to be a somebody and along comes Huffington Post to spoil the day. Why?  Because his name and reputation are out there. Why? So some journalistic enterprise can question another guys integrity.

The fact is this. The charges are 16 years ago. Second, he served his time. Third he has already clarified that any reward should go to the victims.  In short he is asking for nothing. He is only enjoying his day in the sun.  A man from a low-income neighborhood in the Inner City of Cleveland. A man who no one had heard of before.  A fella, who had the chance to do something good for his fellow-man, and did just that, and we question his goodness based on his past way back some 16 years ago.  What do I call that?  I call that a cheap shot.

I also say ….Let the man enjoy his day in the Sun. Because within a very short time no one will remember his name. He once again will disappear into the community from whence he came. I hope his life and fortune will be better.  If he is a good person with incentive, and a good opportunity comes upon him, then God Speed.

But cheap shots of a criminal past 16 years behind him seem to me a little unfair.

I bet you that there are three women and their families who would stand next to me and say the same thing.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in City Crime, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Issues, Crime, Currant Events, National News, News and Politics, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

