ARE THINGS GETTING BETTER?

Are things actually getting better? Or, are, as some nay-sayers are preaching, things getting worse. Or is it that we are all living in some kind of murage, where as sudden as we thought things were on the mend, the toilet flushes and takes us all down the drain with it.

That seems to be one of the hot questions floating around out there in PC land.

Here is what I am noting as we speak.  I was just on the phone with my brother. We both talk politics, and basically see eye to eye.  Most cities in the U.S. are in fiscal trouble.  The last recession just took the wind out of our sails.  People lost their homes by the thousands. Losing your home in a good-sized city spelled serious trouble for the city, because a vacant house can not pay taxes. It just sits there, vacant, alone, and deteriorating and becoming more and more a burden to the city.

As home ownership disappears, so too does the tax payer. As a result the city has less money, and then they start talking deficit. Deficit, means lower tax revenue. The city can not pay its obligations, and pensions funds go short. As the deficit grows, government passes it on to the existing tax payers, who are strapped to the breaking point. So they vote no on taxes, and the city then imposes it as a fee for service. Now residents get mad and vote the government out, and the same thing happens again and again, because the city has got to find the financial resources to pay the bills. Finally, after all else has failed, the city broke, gone bust, in comes an emergency financial manager, and fees, and taxes go up even higher, pensions are dumped. Wages decreased, property taxes rise, and more people leave the city, sort of like rats jumping off the sinking ship.

So, I ask again, are we living in some sort of fantasy?  I wonder.

What do you think? Drop a line, and if not, that’s OK too. Just remember, have a good day, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY,

And as usual………………GOD BLESS AMERICA!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, Bail Outs, Balanced Budget Amendment, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Issues, Conservatives, Currant Events, Democrat Issues, Democrats, Economics, National News, News and Politics, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

