THANK YOU.

It is Memorial Day. On this particular weekend most of the families begin the festivities of summer. We go about our way at family picnics, or sitting before the TV watching the Indie 500. I admit, I am an avid racing fan, mostly into Stock Car’s, so I made it a point to see the COKE 500 last night, and watched the Indie as well.  All in all I had a good day. Basking in the holiday festivity, FREE to do whatever it was that I wanted to.

I am reminded of a song we used to sing at school when I was a lad, back in the 60’s

“Freedom isn’t free…Freedom isn’t free….You got to pay the price….You gotta sacrifice for you liberty”.

That sacrifice has come from the thousands of men and women who put their lives on the line so that you and I, our parent’s, grandparents, and children might be able to enjoy that same freedom that we enjoy each year on this special weekend. They didn’t have to do it during the Mid-East wars but they did. They volunteered, each and every one of them. They did what they did so that we could be free. They committed their very lives so that we could bask in the glory of One Nation under God, Indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for all.

That is what Memorial Day is all about.  It is our time to honor those who sacrificed their lives so that you and I might be free. It is about those who survived, returned home, because to them their life was worth the sacrifice. They were willing to give up their life for their country.

That is why we take this time to express our appreciation to all those who served our military, those still over seas, and those who gave the ultimate for our freedom.

If you see a veteran today, don’t forget to thank them for that sacrifice.  It is the least that we can do. But to them, it is the most appreciated expression that they can hear. When someone who they do not even know, takes a moment of their time to say

Thank You!

Have a great day………God Bless our Soldiers, and those who gave their lives that all Americans can be free.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Issues, Conservatives, Currant Events, Home Land Security, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Social Issues, The Mid East, War, World Peace. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

