THE PAULA DEEN FLAP

I think by now everyone knows about the downward plunge of Paula Deen who admitted in court that she had in the past used the “N” word in reference to Black People. Of course there are others who are coming forward with their stories of discriminatory if not cruel behavior of Paula toward her employees.  However, her sons are saying this all amounts to nothing more than extortion. It is an open attempt to destroy the lady and her empire.

The boys say that she is the sweetest lady around and is not the bigot she is being made out to be. Well, at the risk of destroying the small following that I have on these pages, I am going to do the unthinkable and get my two-cents in.

I have no doubt that she might have used the “N” word, and years ago might have used the term in a negative way toward black people. Of course, many are upset by this, but at least the lady did not purge herself on the witness stand when asked to recall whether or not the 66 year old lady from the South had ever refered to Black persons as in the “N” word. She instead told the truth, and is now going to be made to pay dearly for it.

This whole flap really bothers me though. there have been several other flaps that have bothered me involving the self righteous media and the attitude that they are all so holy, and therefore they, and they alone are the chosen ones to not only expose, but launch a full scale media campaign to wipe out any celebrity who dares make a mistake.  Any one with frailties of any kind are the possible victim of the Fifth Estate, and of course as far as they are concerned they are more righteous than us all.

Paula Deen is from the deep South. She is 66 years old and most likely her old ways have still hung onto her. I am not saying she is right, not saying she was right back in the 60’s either. I am just saying that often these old ways linger on and sometimes slip out. But how she might have felt then, and how she feels today are two different things. And you know what? I don’t think the media gives a hoot and holler about her changing ways and her past, and what she said then, what she thinks now. I don’t think they even care about her idea of an old Plantation style wedding complete with Black waiters, depicting an age gone by. How that idea was born, and the context of discussion, with who, by who, and where.  All they care about is that they were able to leach onto this sordid story, and launch a media blitz campaign designed to ruin a celebrity. That’s all. One more VIP high profile TV personality bites the dust thanks to media hype.

She was wrong, she admitted her wrongs, and all she wants to do is move on. But the media can’t allow that. they have to tear her up, rip her down, destroy all that she is, and then walk away acting as if they had done their civil duty. All in the name of racial justice. Please!

I wonder how many of these high profile media sorts would feel if their closet was busted open for all the world to see. I wonder what they would do under such circumstances if it was they who was exposed.  Maybe they smoked some weed, took a little snort, shot up, drank too much. Maybe it was some elicit affair hidden away in their closet, covered up so no one would see.

Its a sad commentary when one group of people who rule the airwaves can use their influence to willfully destroy someone, by leaving bits and pieces out of the true story, because those little tid-bits might actually save them. It’s a sad commentary when a few high profile Blacks can stand up on their soap box and demand ruin all because of something that happened years ago. Oh how holy we are. How unforgiving we have become.

it seems that I remember back when President Obama was first elected President, in a hotel where the President-Elect was staying, former President Bill Clinton was heard to say “It wasn’t that long ago that this guy(Obama) would have been carrying our bags to our rooms for us. Oh, but that’s OK, he meant no harm. Just a slip of the tongue.

I might add that it’s interesting that Blacks are so offended by the “N” word, but that so many of them throw the word around at each other like slang. It’s OK for them to direct the insult at themselves, but let a white person dare use the phrase.

As the bible says “He who has not sinned cast the first stone”.  Gee, there sure are a lot of rocks flying around here today.

That’s my point of view……I look forward to hearing your insights on this and any other issues of the day. until then…Have a good one and as usual…God Bless America!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in Barrack Obama, Civil Rights, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Currant Events, Human Rights, International News, National News, News and Politics, Scandal, Social Issues, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

