RETAINING A NEUTRAL POSITION….THERE ARE TWO SIDES TO EVERY STORY.

I try to maintain a neutral position on many stories of the day. I think that I often confuse the reader when I seem to waver off one position, say on the Left, and then suddenly here I am writing about the position on the Right.  I just think that is the way a writer, even in the Social Media, ought to cover the issues of the day. Because…..there are two sides of the story.

Now, everyone knows how I feel about the Tea Party. I have my issues with these folks not because of what they stand for, but how they deal with their stand. The perfect example here is The Affordable Health Care Act….Obama Care.  Put simply, you can not hold the whole country hostage over one issue when it comes time to do the Nation’s business, It’s as simple as that. Congress is made up of compromise, You get some of these, I get some of those, and after a little haggling here and there we come up with a deal. The Tea Party though has had a whole different approach. It’s my way or the highway! No deal making, no give, no take, no haggling, in short….No compromise! That is not democracy. That is not representation of the people. That is a self-centered attitude that they and they only have the answers to the perplexing and yes, often complicated problems that face our nation. Our deficit, as well as our spending, that is our over spending, are the major issues of the day.  But, you can not shut down the country over one issue.

That’s enough of that.  There are though, very serious issues with so-called Obama Care.

In my work, yes, I do have a job other than Blogging, I often come across individuals just out there making a living. The regular guy, Joe and Jane Six Pack. These are honest, hard-working people. They get up every day, some getting behind the wheel of a big rig, and drive all day long and deep into the night, and in general…..Well, they make this country roll.  Without those truckers out there on the highways, By-ways, and city avenues, our country would quickly grind to a halt.

It is these people who are the real Heart Beat of America. They tell it like it is. And, right now these people are very scared of Obama Care. One trucker told me that he had just checked into options for Obama Care, and found out that when he loses his insurance, and has to shop for his new Health Care, that his monthly premium will cost him $800.00 and something per month. I am also told that there is a cheaper alternative, about $100.00 per month.  But if anything health wise goes wrong, or as one of my previous doctors would say, “If any thing goes funky”, it could cost you five, six, ten or twenty thousand dollars in one shot.

This does not sound like such a great option to me. In short, it seems that most people are going to pay an arm and a leg for Health Care Insurance. The problem is that most of these folks are not making $18.00, $20.00 per hour. They are making about say $10.00 or $11.00 per hour.  Everything they have goes into scraping by and making a bare living. So the question they ask is just where are they going to come up with $800.00 or more in Health Care premiums?  Answer, they say……I’m not. I don’t have it, that’s it, that’s all there is to it.

OK….So then, how should the Tea Party have dealt with the Affordable Health Care Act. Well, easy I say. Let it happen. Let it take place. I assure you  that just about the time the American people get a load of what it is going to cost them, the revolt will reverberate across the country in such a ground swell, that the so-called Obama Health Care pipe dream will go right down the tube. In no time, the program will be scrapped.  Now the Republicans have been looking for some meat to chew on, and that there is meat. Rare meat, the kind of meat that elections are won and lost on.

But, when a small minority in Congress takes it upon themselves to pull a stunt like we have been dealing with recently, shutting down the United States Government over one issue, that is not the smart thing to do. That does not give the American people the impression that they are the adults in the room!  As I have said before it reminds one of a little spoiled kid in the midst of a game, who when he does not get his way, he throws a tantrum, and takes his marbles and goes home….So there !

In short, we have to extend the budget. We have to have a budget. And once again, we have to deal with this overspending issue as well. We have to tell those who represent us that it is time to get serious and deal with the issues.

By letting AHCA occur, we force the President into dealing with the reality of the issue. He can’t just sit it out any more. This is reality George, if it’s going to work, and is as good for the country as the President says that it is, OK, but if it is nothing more than a nightmare, then he will have to deal with that too.

And guess what? Either way it’s all on him.

Well, there you go folks. Two sides to every story. The good, the bad and the ugly.  Only time will tell.

But no matter the end game……….The Federal Government needs to go back to work!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Economy, American Politics, Balanced Budget Amendment, Barrack Obama, Class Warfare, Community and Neighborhoods, Congress, Conservative Issues, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Debt Ceiling, Democrat Issues, Democrats, Economics, Fiscal Cliff, Healthcare reform, Home Land Security, Liberals, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Repbublican Issues, Republicans, Scandal, Senate, Social Issues, Social Justice, The House, The Political Left, The Political Right, The Tea Party, U.S. Economics, U.S. House of Representatives, United States Senate, Wall Street Greed. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

