AN AGREEMENT WITH IRAN MIGHT BE A GOOD DEAL. THE QUESTION IS CAN WE TRUST IRAN?

Iran’s president, a moderate, marked his 100th day Monday, by marking a landmark deal with the United States over Iran’s desire for Nuclear weapon capability, something Israel will not tolerate. Israel and The United States have long accused Iran of seeking nuclear weapon capability. The charges though were denied by Iran and led to even more polarization between all three nations. But, in the midst of the Mid East conflict, there is no doubt that a nuclear Iran would not be good for the stability of Israel, and if Israel were to take matters in to her own hands the results might be devastating throughout the middle east.

During the course of the past several years, and more specifically during the course of the past few months, Washington and Iran have edged closer and closer to an agreement. However, regardless of a U.S. Iran agreement, France, Russia, Germany, as well as England and more specifically, Israel had to concur before moving forward.

Now that has occurred, Secretary of State Kerry has made it clear that the agreement is set up in such a manner as to assure Iranian compliance.  This, said Kerry is the hard part. The work horse of the process, because Iran must verify it’s compliance. That compliance might change in a heart beat when confronted with a regime change in Iran to a more radical administration or if Ayatollah Ali Khamenei were to withdraw his support. Iran and the United States are developing a very sensitive relationship. But Iran needs to get frozen assets released and by changing their nuclear policy that is a real possibility.

Only time will tell. If the Ayatollah stays in the bargain, and all sides comply. Then there could be a real break through.

It is though an issue of trust. Iran says that they are ready to talk, and begin the process of resolving their differences, from as far back as the 1970’s. Israel does not trust the nation that said they would run Israel into the sea. Iran sees the United States as the Great Satin, and any world event is enough to set radicals into the streets crying for Death to America!.  And, make no mistake, there are those in the Mid East that oppose any agreement with The U.S. Radical Islam still has a major influence, and in my mind that means that this thing ain’t over yet.  In a Heart beat the entire government in Iran might change to a more radical perception and that would spell disaster for any deal made between this administration and the nation of Iran.

No matter the deal. No matter the intent. No matter the hope. This agreement is on shaky ground.

That’s my point of view, and as usual I look forward to your insights on this and all the issues of the day.

Have a great day, and enjoy your Thanksgiving. I’m off to Port Huron, Michigan for time with my brother, and some R&R after the passing of my Mother-in-Law. My wife is ready for some quality time down. So am I.

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Politics, Barrack Obama, Conservatives, Currant Events, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Iran, Islamic Issues, Israel, National News, News and Politics, Politics, The Mid East, War. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

