MY FLAG

The other day I was looking through my Facebook page and came across an elderly man, a veteran, sitting in a wheel chair. Sitting before him, waving proudly on a pole, attached to his porch was The American Flag.  The Headline Caption read something about how he had been informed that he had to take down his American Flag, as it had come to authorities attention that this flag was offensive to Islamic people.

I was stunned. that any local government, State or even our Federal government, for that matter, would ever say to a citizen of The United States, in a city of The United states, while on American territory, that they must remove the symbol of their nation, the American Flag, because it is offensive to someone who is not from or is not a citizen of this country.

Unfortunately, my old flag just can’t be flown anymore. I have plans to purchase another flag soon. but the reason my old flag is battered, tore, and worn is that I am so proud to be an American, that it flew near every day. That old flag went through, wind, rain, and finally just came undone. But through her life she flew in front of my home and I was proud to know that I had good cause to be proud of the nation in which I live. And regardless of those who might be offended, regardless of any mandates, orders from government, or agency, the symbol, the banner of The United States of America! The American Flag, shall and will fly proudly before my home!

When I see this flag I think of the countless Americans who gave their lives for freedom, those who died holding, and protecting that flag, those who gave their lives so that this great symbol of freedom, and liberty can wave proudly around the world. When I see that flag, I am reminded of what it is that this nation stands for. One Nation under God, inadvisable, with Liberty and Justice for All. This flag the most recognized symbol in the world is the essence of freedom, and liberty. It means that here in this country you are free. We might disagree, but we can disagree without fear and intimidation, in incarceration. from those who might disagree with our point of view. I can think of no banner of which I would want flying proudly before my home, or our public institutions.

As I said on my Facebook page today ” This is my flag. I am proud of this flag. I am proud of my nation. In this country there should be no law banning the display of the American Flag. It is the symbol of freedom.

GOD BLESS THE USA!!!!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Politics, Community and Neighborhoods, Conservative Issues, Conservative Right, Currant Events, Democrat Issues, Democrats, Freedom, National News, News and Politics, The American Flag, The Political Left, The Political Right, The Tea Party, The United States, The United States of America. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

