FORMER PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER, AND MICHIGAN GOVERNOR RICK SNYDER DELIVER ADDRESSES AT THE ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE ISLAMIC SOCIETY OF NORTH AMERICA.

CBS News, New York,NY Aug 30, 2014

According to CBS News, former President Jimmy Carter will deliver the key-note address today at the Annual conference of the Islamic Society of North America, one of the nations largest Muslim organizations.

Carter will speak on what he says is the historic need for religious communities to mobilize against discrimination and violence directed at girls and women. In addition, the former president will invite the Muslim leaders at the convention to sign a Declaration for peaceful communities advocating greater Human Rights. Also, addressing the opening session of the ISNA is Governor Rick Snyder (R), of Michigan. The conference is being held in Detroit. Both Carter, a Democrat as well as Snyder a Republican are being criticised by The Detroit Free Press for addressing the conference. The Paper says that a federal Judge in Texas declared in a 2009 decision that there was ample proof that linking ISNA  to HAMAS the primary armed resistance against Israel. However, ISNA declares that they reject any acts of terrorism.

With the Thomas More Law Center saying that Carters address gives an aire of respectability to ISNA, I too wonder if american politicians are wise to address such organizations, especially when their reputation is called to question within the Federal Court System.

It seems that of late, I have had much criticism against the Obama administration. But then again, I have a hard time adjusting to such a weak foreign policy in such dangerous times as this. I have said that the President waits too long in decision-making, only deciding on a more aggressive response well after a crisis has taken a firm hold in a given region or situation. The recent developments with ISNL are a perfect example of the this presidents reluctance to act on serious foreign policy matters. As a result, I along with many other american’s, are seriously concerned about the security of The United States, its borders, and the future of this country if this trend continues. I can not help but respond therefore to such a weak, dangerous foreign policy set forth by this administration. I had the same energetic response to the Bush administration when I found myself in opposition to their policies. The invasion of Iraq for example was a prime example. I still say that The United states invaded a sovereign nation, and there are still questions as to whether weapons of mass destruction existed there or not.  I had serious reservations about the Presidents Border control issues, and his reluctance to deal with the masses of Mexicans flowing in to this country, a situation that was then, and is now very much out of control.

I say all this because, I want the reader to understand that I am more than willing to go after Republicans, Democrats, Liberals, Tea Party, Right Left, even the Center when it warrants. I want to remain as neutral as possible. But when it’s wrong…It’s wrong. I can not, and will not stand by adhering to political philosophy Right, Left or Center, when there are serious questions and issues regarding the issues of the day.

In this particular matter. I think that Mr. Carter and Mr. Snyder should not have accepted the invitations to address an organization whose integrity and reputation is in question. It is not a wise political decision. Most important, when it offers an aire of legitimacy to the organization and its perceived hidden agenda, which might bring harm to US National Security and its foreign policy, we must question the wisdom of bowing to their expectations of recognition.

That’s my point of view. I hope you take to time to respond to this and other subjects put forth by the Horton Journal, A Political Perspective. I look forward to hearing from readers who watch this page. And, tell a friend about the Journal.

This weekend we celebrate the American Labor Movement. remember those who make America what she is. Have a great Labor Day…….And God Bless the USA!

About THE HORTON JOURNAL A POLITICAL PERSPECTIVE

I am 62 years old. I've been blogging for several years. I am into History and Politics as well as currant events. The latter being the main issues covered on these pages. I was a Community Advocate for twenty years, and a volunteer aide in a State Representatives Office in my home state of Michigan. While I have basically ceased these activities, I still watch the world around me closely and report on it as much as I can, which I might add is often. I encourage comments on my Blogs. I only ask that we keep our opinions clean and without insults threats or intimidation. I hope you take time to read The Horton Journal, and look forward to your comments.
This entry was posted in American Politics, Conservative Issues, Conservative Right, Conservatives, Currant Events, Democrat Issues, Democrats, Detroit, History, Human Rights, Immigration policy, Internatioanal Affairs, International News, Iran, Islamic Issues, Israel, Liberals, Mid East Crisis, National News, News and Politics, Politics, Repbublican Issues, Republicans, Social Issues, Social Justice, Texas, The House, The Mid East, The Political Left, The Political Right, The Tea Party, The United States, The United States of America, War, World Peace. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

